What is a Doula Anyway?

I get questioned all the time about what it is that I do here in Fresno. My answer always changes. There is so much to what I do as a Doula, and it differs from woman to woman and couple to couple. Sometimes I’m very hands on and verbal because that’s what that couple needs, other times I can be off to the side only whispering words of support. It all depends on what mom and dad need at the time. Regardless of the length of labor, I am committed 100% to that mother and baby and father. I love what I do and I can’t imagine the day when I no longer do this. I love my work and love every single one of the families I’ve had the privilege of spending precious hours with.

Servant
Pronunciation:
\ˈsər-vənt\
Function:
noun
Etymology:
Middle English, from Anglo-French, from present participle of servir
Date:
13th century
: one that serves others <a public servant> ; especially : one that performs duties about the person or home of a master or personal employer

Doula means female servant and that’s what I am.  I am there for the mother and the mothers partner. I am there for them mentally and physically. I anticipate needs and fulfill requests. I encourage, support, and give of myself. I give my knowledge, experience, and my soul. Watch these videos to get a better idea for your self.

If you have any questions or are inspired to become a Doula yourself, please feel free to contact me at 559-930-2032 or visit my website for more details

Leave a Reply

